Good therapists are worth their weight in gold

My post title isn’t a knock on any therapist out there who is on the heavier side.  I’m solely addressing the personality of therapists.  In this post, I’m referring to my first one, Dr. G.

I’m very well aware that I got lucky with my first therapist.  Especially the hoops I had to jump through to get in touch with her, through no fault of her own.

I called my ob-gyn’s office, asking for a therapist.  They ask if I’m depressed, I say no, I’m anxious/scared/fearful all the time.  They give me a number and a name.  I call that number and find out the person’s moved.  Luckily they had the new number.  So I call, and try to leave a message.  I think I ended up leaving two messages.  She (the name was kind of unisex) calls me back and we make an appointment.  I don’t really know what to expect, but I feel better just for having talked with her and knowing I’m going to meet her.

Things only got better, in regards to her therapy.

On my way to my first appointment I get lost and end up being late.  I’m guessing the fact that I went overrides my lateness, cuz my therapist doesn’t seem to care.  Right off the bat, I get a great vibe from her.  Warm, gentle, caring, I instantly liked her.  Because I’m late, the little questionnaire that the insurance company makes you fill out gets saved for later.  I tell her what’s been going on, and we have a great session.  She also had a great sense of humor.  The questionnaire asks, among other things, if the patient is getting enough sleep.  I struggle for an answer when she quips (I’m paraphrasing), “No, new parent,” which made me laugh.

I leave her office with a follow-up appointment.  My meetings with her are weekly, and I feel good after each meeting.  She doesn’t want me on medication just yet.  First she wants to see if relaxation techniques will work (hindsight being 20/20, she would have put me on medication, but I’ll get into that later).  And they do work, a bit.  I can do one or two at my desk without anyone knowing.  Others I can simply head to the bathroom.

I’m immensely grateful she was my therapist while I lived in FL.  She was/is a terrific therapist.

Be well.

~ by phaerygurl on June 13, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
The Other Side

...the inane ramblings of an Aussie Pagan Aspie Houswife

PaperMonster Stencil Graffiti Artist

PaperMonster Stencil Graffiti Art

Lindy's Stamp Gang

Join the Lindy's color revolution!

Kristen Lamb

Author, Blogger, Social Media Jedi

Geekgalz

wedding photographer and scrapper

paper.love.chronicles

my life. decorated with paper.

Scrapstorian

Scrapbooker + Story teller + Historian = Scrapstorian

Scrapbook Creations

a blog dedicated to papercraft and it's largest selling mag in Australia

Vintage Book Fairy

Exploring vintage books, papers and illustrations

Shut Up & Create

I art journal in my bat cave, and stir the boiling pot of creative experiments--all for the sake of self-growth and sanity.

Junquemail Contessa

Mixed Media: Art Journaling , Textiles, Artist Trading Cards and Mail Art

Sandoodles

I am a 21 year old optimist, baker, and art enthusiast :) welcome!

Ky Grabowski

Today is a beginning; not an end.

zaradrawing

Original Pen Drawings by Zara

The Crafty Coup

Finally, you're here! Let's make something!

