In Honor of…and a promise

Today is April Fool’s Day, for a little longer anyway.  Today is also my grandmother’s birthday.  She passed away several years ago (over a decade).  She missed my college graduation, my wedding, my son being born, and all the little things in between.  But I know she saw everything.  And I always remember her, especially due to her birthday.  She also suffered from postpartum depression in a time when one of the only therpies was shock therapy.  She lost some memories due to it.

So in honor of my grandma, who I can still see clear as day in my mind, I want to make a promise to you, my readers.  I’ve been very bad in not keeping up with this blog.  I’ve got lots written down, and some of it typed up, but the original schedule is too much for me.

So I want to try to post once every two weeks,  Yeah, I know, in the blogiverse, that’s practically forever.  Especially with many blogs, with a variety of topics, posting every couple days, daily, or even every few hours.  Then again, I’m one person, with a part-time job, a hubby, and little one, and, well, life.

But I started this blog for two reasons.  Hubby thought it would be good therapy for me, and he’s right.  And as hard as it was to deal with it when it happened, and how hard it is at times to remember, I don’t want to forget.  I shouldn’t forget, which brings me to my second reason.  Helping someone, anyone else.  Even if it’s only one person.  Too many women suffer a postpartum mood disorder, some fight and survive and thrive, others unfortunately do not.  For them, I grieve.  And for those who are fighting, or may someday have to fight, I hope I can give some measure of comfort, knowing that I survived with my family intact and happy, and so can you.

So I’ll hop down off my soapbox, and just tell you that I’ll still tell my story.  And cliche as it sounds, this is true: you are not alone.

~ by phaerygurl on April 2, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
The Other Side

...the inane ramblings of an Aussie Pagan Aspie Houswife

PaperMonster Stencil Graffiti Artist

PaperMonster Stencil Graffiti Art

Lindy's Stamp Gang

Join the Lindy's color revolution!

Kristen Lamb

Author, Blogger, Social Media Jedi

Geekgalz

wedding photographer and scrapper

paper.love.chronicles

my life. decorated with paper.

Scrapstorian

Scrapbooker + Story teller + Historian = Scrapstorian

Scrapbook Creations

a blog dedicated to papercraft and it's largest selling mag in Australia

Vintage Book Fairy

Exploring vintage books, papers and illustrations

Shut Up & Create

I art journal in my bat cave, and stir the boiling pot of creative experiments--all for the sake of self-growth and sanity.

Junquemail Contessa

Mixed Media: Art Journaling , Textiles, Artist Trading Cards and Mail Art

Sandoodles

I am a 21 year old optimist, baker, and art enthusiast :) welcome!

Ky Grabowski

Today is a beginning; not an end.

zaradrawing

Original Pen Drawings by Zara

The Crafty Coup

Finally, you're here! Let's make something!

