Rant #6 – Awareness is key

Now, something I’ve mentioned before (I think) and I’ll say it again, so sorry for any repeats.  I don’t want any moms/moms-to-be to become paranoid, just be aware.  Everyone’s symptoms/reactions are different.  There’s sadness, frustration, anxiety, rage, paranoia, brooding, withdrawing from the world (mentally, physically, or both), terror, the list goes on and on.  You may have mood swings, panic attacks; the list goes on.  And yes, a family history does tend to increase your chances, BUT, it’s not set in stone.  And many women have had PPD with their first and not their second, or the reverse, or both.  Sometimes it’s more severe the second time around.

And there’s not really any way of knowing what’s going to set you off.  I can’t tell you how many times I asked, why didn’t I realize it sooner, why did these small events/interactions get lodged in my brain and blow up and try to take over, could I have done something to hold this off?  Truth is, probably not.

America’s health system would need a MAJOR overhaul, and I’m talking strictly prenatal and postpartum care.  I’m not going to open the can of worms that is the need for overhaul of our systems as a whole.  There have been studies done of other countries and cultures that deal with prenatal and postpartum health care a WHOLE lot differently.  And cases of postpartum depression are LOWER.  Not gone, but lower.  And there is always research to be done.  So I most likely would have developed this.  One big difference in my case was knowing (or rather, NOT knowing) my family history in terms of mental health.  My therapist told my husband I would have been put on medication sooner, which could very likely have erased the situation that resulted in my nervous breakdown and subsequent stay in the psych ward and being put on medication.

And this also speaks to the fact that again, PPD can be quiet as a gentle breeze or as subtle as a sledgehammer.  It can show up anytime.  Everyone’s different and everyone’s postpartum depression is also different.  So again (man, I really am a broken record on this), be aware.

~ by phaerygurl on June 18, 2013.

3 Responses to “Rant #6 – Awareness is key”

  1. Keep moving forward Tracy! You’re doing great!

Leave a Reply

 
The Other Side

...the inane ramblings of an Aussie Pagan Aspie Houswife

PaperMonster Stencil Graffiti Artist

PaperMonster Stencil Graffiti Art

Lindy's Stamp Gang

Join the Lindy's color revolution!

Kristen Lamb

Author, Blogger, Social Media Jedi

Geekgalz

wedding photographer and scrapper

paper.love.chronicles

my life. decorated with paper.

Scrapstorian

Scrapbooker + Story teller + Historian = Scrapstorian

Scrapbook Creations

a blog dedicated to papercraft and it's largest selling mag in Australia

Vintage Book Fairy

Exploring vintage books, papers and illustrations

Shut Up & Create

I art journal in my bat cave, and stir the boiling pot of creative experiments--all for the sake of self-growth and sanity.

Junquemail Contessa

Mixed Media: Art Journaling , Textiles, Artist Trading Cards and Mail Art

Sandoodles

I am a 21 year old optimist, baker, and art enthusiast :) welcome!

Ky Grabowski

Today is a beginning; not an end.

zaradrawing

Original Pen Drawings by Zara

The Crafty Coup

Finally, you're here! Let's make something!

