Read and understand…

I’m so sorry I’ve been missing.  It feels like way too long.  Now that I haven’t been writing, I just haven’t gotten stuff typed up and posted.  It’s been brought to my attention recently, that I may also have ADD.  I’m currently reading a book called Driven to Distraction.  Now, for anyone who’s got messed up parents (I mean seriously messed up), I’d recommend reading a book called Toxic Parents.  You should be able to find it at your local library, that’s where I found it.  It was so incredible.  You may find yourself reading a particular part and saying, “That’s totally my mom/dad!”  Now granted, not everyone who has depression, OCD, or postpartum has had a really terrible experience with their parents, but you shouldn’t rule it out.  I’m also working my way through a book specifically for sufferers of OCD called Brain Lock, which is so simple a title, but so very accurate.  And of course, Driven to Distraction.

I guess what my point is, read!  Educate yourself on your illness, whatever it is.  Not only will it give you the validation you may or may not have known you were looking for (or perhaps you don’t need it, that’s fine too), but it helps you understand what’s going on in your brain.  Read blogs by other people who are also struggling with it.  Sometimes one simple sentence or explanation makes all the difference in understanding why your brain isn’t working like other people’s.

BUT, do not take the validation as a way to get out of doing things.  Sure, we have an illness, something that can reduce us to a gibbering mess in a matter of seconds.  But don’t allow the knowledge, and the aha! moments to go in one ear and out the other.  I’m guilty of this one myself, because I’m constantly trying to work on my issues.  I work around them if I need to.  I do not, however, or at least I try not to, pity myself and be all “woe is me.”  I do educate others, I don’t hide my issues.  I don’t broadcast it to every person at my temp job, mind you, but if it comes up in conversation, I do mention it.

And I’m realizing that I’m kinda doing a generic post instead of my story.  I’ll be posting more this weekend on my actual story and sorry about my unintentional time on the soapbox.

Be well.

~ by phaerygurl on March 22, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
The Other Side

...the inane ramblings of an Aussie Pagan Aspie Houswife

PaperMonster Stencil Graffiti Artist

PaperMonster Stencil Graffiti Art

Lindy's Stamp Gang

Join the Lindy's color revolution!

Kristen Lamb

Author, Blogger, Social Media Jedi

Geekgalz

wedding photographer and scrapper

paper.love.chronicles

my life. decorated with paper.

Scrapstorian

Scrapbooker + Story teller + Historian = Scrapstorian

Scrapbook Creations

a blog dedicated to papercraft and it's largest selling mag in Australia

Vintage Book Fairy

Exploring vintage books, papers and illustrations

Shut Up & Create

I art journal in my bat cave, and stir the boiling pot of creative experiments--all for the sake of self-growth and sanity.

Junquemail Contessa

Mixed Media: Art Journaling , Textiles, Artist Trading Cards and Mail Art

Sandoodles

I am a 21 year old optimist, baker, and art enthusiast :) welcome!

Ky Grabowski

Today is a beginning; not an end.

zaradrawing

Original Pen Drawings by Zara

The Crafty Coup

Finally, you're here! Let's make something!

