Rant # 1 – Mental Illness Shouldn’t be a Forbidden Topic

I was going to continue my story today, but another blogger, who has struggled with mental illness most of her life, had something very poignant written on her page that got me to thinking about something that I plan to do several on this blog.  In addition to telling my story, I’m going to post…well, for lack of a better word, rants.  There are things I need to say, to so many groups of people, in regards to perinatal mood disorders.  I will ask that everyone who is reading this, please look past any foul language and/or accusatory tones to see my warning/request/plea for what it is.

To what inspired this post: awareness and understanding.  Despite the large number of women (and to a lesser extent, men) who suffer and struggle and slog through postpartum depression and other mental illnesses related to pregnancy and parenthood, the topic of these disorders is rarely discussed.  Despite the large and still growing volume of research and study that has been published about these illnesses, they are still rarely discussed.

I can attest to this fact.  Yes, I knew postpartum depression existed.  Yes, I hoped I was immune and it never entirely occurred to me that I could develop it.  It was also never explained to me, at all.  I got a tone of literature in the hospital after my on was born.  In one stapled together packet, there was a small mention of baby blues and postpartum depression.  No one, no person, ever mentioned it to me.  And I don’t mean scared me with the information, but calmly explained that it could happen, that it’s okay, and how to get help.

So that’s what I’d like to see, more awareness, without scare tactics.  Imagine how many people that would help.

~ by phaerygurl on February 19, 2013.

2 Responses to “Rant # 1 – Mental Illness Shouldn’t be a Forbidden Topic”

  1. Ain’t it the truth. 😦 I think that OB/GYNs and hospitals do us a disservice by treating PPD as an exception and not the norm. (I know it’s not the “norm”, but it’s more common than we are sometimes led to believe.) Without even trying, I can rattle off at least ten names of people I know who have struggled with this. There needs to be an ongoing discussion of PPD in our society. It can be terribly frightening if you’re not educated about it beforehand.

    • Agreed. Even the name, postpartum depression, if you don’t know about it, then it just sounds like you’re really sad. And I had no baby blues. And even if it isn’t the norm (as in most new mothers), the simple fact that it’s not mentioned at all, no posters, nothing. I get the happy, lovey dovey images, and I’m not against them. I just think there should be more clues, especially if women are feeling this way. As it is, all the pregnancy and motherhood stuff is all positive. It’s like the doctors are afraid any negativity is going to tear down the happy, pretty, soft picture of motherhood. If anything, postpartum depression, etc. does that just fine, thank you very much.

Leave a Reply

 
The Other Side

...the inane ramblings of an Aussie Pagan Aspie Houswife

PaperMonster Stencil Graffiti Artist

PaperMonster Stencil Graffiti Art

Lindy's Stamp Gang

Join the Lindy's color revolution!

Kristen Lamb

Author, Blogger, Social Media Jedi

Geekgalz

wedding photographer and scrapper

paper.love.chronicles

my life. decorated with paper.

Scrapstorian

Scrapbooker + Story teller + Historian = Scrapstorian

Scrapbook Creations

a blog dedicated to papercraft and it's largest selling mag in Australia

Vintage Book Fairy

Exploring vintage books, papers and illustrations

Shut Up & Create

I art journal in my bat cave, and stir the boiling pot of creative experiments--all for the sake of self-growth and sanity.

Junquemail Contessa

Mixed Media: Art Journaling , Textiles, Artist Trading Cards and Mail Art

Sandoodles

I am a 21 year old optimist, baker, and art enthusiast :) welcome!

Ky Grabowski

Today is a beginning; not an end.

zaradrawing

Original Pen Drawings by Zara

The Crafty Coup

Finally, you're here! Let's make something!

