these are your hands on OCD…

For anyone with OCD and does the handwashing ritual, these pictures will look familiar.  For those that don’t, here’s your warning.

100_6000 100_6001 100_6003 100_6004 100_6005

When you have OCD and hand washing is one of your rituals, you do it CON-STANT-LY.  I’m not just talking about after going to the bathroom or getting dirty in the garden, I’m talking all the time.  As I said in a previous post, hand sanitizer became my best friends, and to a far lesser degree, still is.  I have a travel size BabyGanics bottle in my  bag along with a hand lotion bottle.  Sanitize, moisturize, sanitize, moisturize, sanitize, moisturize, sanitize, moisturize……I can go on.

That and baby wipes, lysol wipes, wipes everywhere.  I was grateful that I had a baby, so (in my mind) I could explain having a huge pack of baby wipes in my bag.  Frankly, out of the 50 or 100 that were in there, I may have used two on my son.  usually, I was wiping something down, or everything.  And always washing my hands, many times two or three times, convinced they weren’t clean.  And I’m not talking the little swipe, swipe with the soap bubbles most of us do, I’m talking coating my hands, scrubbing, scrubbing, inspecting my hands.  Oh, I think I see a spot, gotta wash again.  it was neverending.

See how my fingers curl in the picture?  My skin’s too tight to fully extend my fingers.  And as you can see, when they get really really dry, really, really red, they crack, and bleed.  You discover all the little folds in the skin on your hands because they’re splitting open and bleeding.  So you put bandages on them.  And look like you lost 5 rounds with a stack of printer paper.

So, yeah, that adorable, hourly or more often hand washing, yeah, these are your hands on OCD…

~ by phaerygurl on February 13, 2013.

One Response to “these are your hands on OCD…”

  1. Spot on.
    I am not alone!

Leave a Reply

 
The Other Side

...the inane ramblings of an Aussie Pagan Aspie Houswife

PaperMonster Stencil Graffiti Artist

PaperMonster Stencil Graffiti Art

Lindy's Stamp Gang

Join the Lindy's color revolution!

Kristen Lamb

Author, Blogger, Social Media Jedi

Geekgalz

wedding photographer and scrapper

paper.love.chronicles

my life. decorated with paper.

Scrapstorian

Scrapbooker + Story teller + Historian = Scrapstorian

Scrapbook Creations

a blog dedicated to papercraft and it's largest selling mag in Australia

Vintage Book Fairy

Exploring vintage books, papers and illustrations

Shut Up & Create

I art journal in my bat cave, and stir the boiling pot of creative experiments--all for the sake of self-growth and sanity.

Junquemail Contessa

Mixed Media: Art Journaling , Textiles, Artist Trading Cards and Mail Art

Sandoodles

I am a 21 year old optimist, baker, and art enthusiast :) welcome!

Ky Grabowski

Today is a beginning; not an end.

zaradrawing

Original Pen Drawings by Zara

The Crafty Coup

Finally, you're here! Let's make something!

